The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Big News! May 5, 2009

Filed under: Knitting Projects — Cailyn @ 1:28 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m going to be published in Yarn Forward #14!

 

 

(image copywrite of St. Range Photography)

 

These are my Salzburg socks.  I designed and knit them around Christmas, during a flood, and well into February.  (They went through a few iterations and color changes.  They were originally pink!)  Like my Danube socks, these are based on Austrian/Bavarian twisted stitch designs, although the main cable on these socks is not a traditional one.  I really love them, especially the end of the main motif before the toe.

 

Top-down, size 1 (2.25mm) needles, standard heel flap and toe, Panda Silk yarn.  Polar bear rug not included. 

 

Yarn Forward is a British magazine that can be found at some major US bookstores or ordered from their website. I’ve picked up a few issues from my local Barnes and Noble, although they run a few issues behind.  This is my first published pattern and I’m very excited!

 

6 Responses to “Big News!”

  1. ChristyH Says:

    Those are great!!

  2. Wow, congratulations, Laura!

  3. Erin Says:

    They are great socks. I’ll have to see if I can find a copy here in CT. Congrats!

  4. Gina Says:

    Congratulations!! they are gorgeous!!!

  5. Frenchconnection (Ravelry) Says:

    I just found your blog, which I am enjoying very much, and also just discovered that you designed the beautiful Salzburg sock pattern in Yarn Forward that sits beside me in my knitting basket. It is my next sock project. I look forward to seeing more of your patterns in the years to come.

  6. […] stitch I love knitting and especially designing twisted stitch socks.  Exhibit A: Danube, Salzburg, and Glass Slipper.  I’ve finally completed my collection of German stitch dictionaries (if […]


Leave a comment