The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

I’m Back (Finally!) October 26, 2010

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 6:46 pm
Tags:

I’m finally home.  Well, technically, I have been home for a week, but I’ve been so busy that I’ve barely noticed.  Where have I been, you ask?

 

First, there was a wonderful three-week trip travelling across Russia.  You can read/watch about our trip on our trip blog, Russia Trek 2010.  I can’t remember if I linked to that before.  I had intended to post a few entries to the Daily Skein while I was on the road, but that never happened.  I only wrote one entry for our trip blog!  (It’s about reenacting a traditional marriage ceremony- very funny, even if I was the one in the figurative spotlight.)

 

The day after I got back from that trip, I travelled to North Carolina to help my sister, who had surgery while I was gone.  We had a lot of fun; I cooked and took her walking outside and she got stitches removed.  I really like the Durham area that she lives in and, even though I was severely jet-lagged the first few days, I was glad I could go take care of her.

 

Then I was finally home.  I’ve been trying to get back on top of the blog, my designs that are in various stages of completion, and chores at home.  Lowell and I have been working on a project that I’ll tell you more about later (it took up the entire weekend and all of yesterday too!)

 

Things have finally settled down enough now that I don’t feel like I’m struggling to stay above water.  Now I’m just quickly treading water or maybe even doggy-paddling towards shore.  After all, it’s fall, which is one of my favorite times of the year.  There’s a nip in the air, soup on the stove, and the leaves are changing into brilliant reds and golds.  Time to pull out the hand-knits; time to curl up on the couch as it gets dark earlier and earlier and knit some more.  Time to get reacquainted with the stash, if you know what I mean.

 

IMAG0175

 

Enjoying the ability to take a break, at least for a few minutes, I was browsing Craft Gossip this evening.  Craft Gossip is one of those sites that just enables someone like me.  It pulls together projects, inspiration, tips, and tutorials from all over the internet and makes them way too easy to find.  Things like this yarn wreath, or these cool polymer clay beads, or these cool antique storage bobbins made from cardboard.  Anyway, I browse around Craft Gossip occasionally and bookmark projects like mad whenever I do.  And today when I was browsing, I saw this!

 

Capture

 

That’s right, my Wintergreen Gloves were on Craft Gossip a few days ago!

 

Capture2

 

I was pretty surprised.  It’s very strange to be wandering around another site and come across your own work!  And I’d like to say hi to anyone coming here from Craft Gossip.  Please ignore the two-month gap in entries.  It won’t happen again (at least any time soon).

 

Leave a comment