The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Birthday Goodies July 8, 2011

Filed under: Musings,spinning — Cailyn @ 12:53 pm
Tags: ,

It was my birthday last week.  Yup, I’ve crossed the 30 barrier.  Funny, it doesn’t feel that different from 29 except for this irrational desire to yell at kids to get off my lawn.  And the cane.

 

Birthdays come with presents, of course, and I got some nice fiber-y, knit-y things.

 

Alice Starmore’s Book of Fair Isle Knitting.  I can’t stop collecting Fair Isle charts- I’m addicted to those snowflakes!

 

My sister sent me some soft, squishy mystery fiber from Three Waters Farm in North Carolina:

115_5561
The burn test revealed that it’s wool, not alpaca.  I think it’s Blue Faced Leicester.

 

I also got some fiber from a local Washington dyer, Rain City Fiber Arts:

 

115_5564

85% BFL, 15% silk, yummy!  I’m not normally a pink person, but I love the combo of pink, purple, and natural undyed wool in this colorway.  I think it will spin up into a nice muted mauve-like shade.

 

115_5566

100% Falkland wool in foresty greens and browns.  I’ve never spun this breed before.  It’s got about a 5 inch staple length (medium-long) and it’s pretty soft.  Actually, this could spin up into a great sock yarn!  Hmmm…

 

And in the “I had to buy this for you so that I could find out what it does” camp, I got a McMorran balance!

 

115_5569

 

It’s really, really hard to take a good picture of a piece of clear acrylic!  I’m going to write a post with more details about using this thing, but the general idea is that a McMorran balance will tell you how much yarn you have.  Once you’ve got your strand of yarn there balanced on the scale (the one in my photo is too light,) then you multiply the length by 100 and that gives you the yards per pound of your yarn.  This is obviously great for handspun, especially if you’re too lazy to count how many times your yarn goes around your niddy-noddy (another crazy named handspinner tool).

 

Also, only 18.5 days until I leave for the Sock Summit!

 

2 Responses to “Birthday Goodies”

  1. Cool gifts! Sock summit…I am jealous!!

  2. Rebecca Says:

    Belated birthday wishes. . . but I also wanted to thank you for your post on short-row sleeves, as I’d done them before but 1. had to do them three times EACH on one sweater (too few, too many, wrong needle size–don’t ask) and was on time #2 on my second sweater and I couldn’t figure out how to get the right number of stitches picked up. Your post was clear and specific and NOT too heavy on math–thank you! thank you!–and I’m quite happy with sleeve #2 and planning to try something slightly different for sleeve #1 take 2 and then choose the winner. Thanks for your help!


Leave a Reply

