The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Crazy Things June 21, 2011

Filed under: Musings,spinning — Cailyn @ 11:53 am
Tags: ,

A commenter pointed out a  problem with the page for the Wintergreen Gloves over the weekend.  All the links to it had stopped working.  I looked into it and it had disappeared from the server!  I couldn’t find the actual post anywhere.  Luckily, I happened to have a local copy of the post and I fiddled with the “posted date” to make it seem like I had posted it in ‘09 like the original.  So the URL is the same as it was, but it’s a new post.  Trippy, man.

 

In other news, a bear has been trying to use our trash can as a buffet.

 

IMG_5114 crop

 

And last night he poked a hole in our gate, presumably because there wasn’t any food in our trash.  I’ve been keeping the trash can in the shed, but I forgot to put it back last time.  It’s in there now!

 

IMG_5140

 

And I finished my first 3-ply yarn.  I started with this fiber from Chameleon Colorworks.  I bought it two years ago in Portland.  I’ve been trying to move through some of my older stash, either spinning it or giving it away, to make room for what I’m sure will be a massive haul from the Sock Summit.

 

102_4924  102_4922

I spun the singles on my Mt. Rainier spindle, with what I call my “Mostly Worsted Short Draw.”  It’s a mangled, customized draw that is mostly a worstedy short draw, but with less smoothing of the fibers and a slight backwards pull.  That didn’t make any sense.  Anyway, it’s my personal style draw when I’m not going for a specific goal.  I divided the fiber into three sections, with no thought for the color changes.  Then I wound them onto plastic bobbins and plied them on my wheel (I hate plying with a spindle).

 

IMG_5132

 

Despite careful fiber division, one single ended up much, much shorter than the others.  Not just by a few yards or even a bunch of yards.  I mean it was 30 or 40 yards shorter!  You can see above how much is left on the other two bobbins.  I don’t know how that happened.  I don’t like the yarn very much, though, so I didn’t stress over it.

 

IMG_5135  IMG_5133

 

I think it ended up being worsted weight.  I’m not sure I like plying with three singles.  I had a really hard time keeping an even tension on all three at once and keeping the twist under control.  Two singles kept twisting before the third, making a 2-ply yarn with a third single swirling around it.  I eventually got the hang of it, but I still couldn’t find a comfortable way to hold things.  I might try again at some point, but right now I’m sticking with 2-plys.

 

Oh and my schedule for the Sock Summit has changed!  One of the classes I was wait-listed for got an opening, so instead of “The Perfect Rib” on Saturday afternoon I’ll be taking “Photographing Your Fiber.”  I’m very excited.  Just about a month left until the Summit!

 

2 Responses to “Crazy Things”

  1. stephcat Says:

    Are bears in your yard *normal*???? (says the girl who gets excited over raccoons and ‘possums!)

    Yeah, we get a bear or two in the yard every spring. They come looking for food when they wake up, but this is the first year they’ve gone after our trashcans. We used to have a mama bear and her two cubs hanging out in our yard- a couple of years ago when we had a bird feeder. Once, one tried to play with our grill and pulled it over (it’s a big cast-iron thing, so we were impressed!)
    -Cailyn

  2. Louise Says:

    You sound pretty calm for finding a bear in your backyard!!


    Well, I’d have been less calm if I were outside! (I have run across one when I was bike riding and that was *terrifying*!) I think he was more afraid of me- as soon as he saw me in the window, he ran away. We’ve had bears before, even though this one is more clever than the previous bears, so we’re not too surprised by them.
    -Cailyn


Leave a Reply

