The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Registering May 4, 2011

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 1:14 pm
Tags:

Well, Sock Summit registration started today.  I must say, it was an exciting 15 minutes.

 

Unlike online ticketing systems (Ticketmaster, etc), which reserve your chosen tickets for a certain amount of time while you finish your transaction, the new Sock Summit system doesn’t reserve your choices until you’ve completed payment.  I quickly (but not quickly enough) figured out that it was better to grab the most important classes, pay, then go back for the rest.  I learned this after I finished inputting all my choices, paying, and getting an error message from the system.  Then when I had to go back, some of my really desired classes were already full.  Luckily, there are so many classes this year that I wanted to take that I’m not heartbroken over the loss of some, but I was so close…

 

After that error, I started to rearrange my schedule before paying, but as I did so, classes kept getting poached out from underneath me.  So, I quickly paid for what was left and went back to fill in the gaps.  Luckily, I had obsessively planned out multiple schedules and plan b’s.

 

Honestly, I was surprised that I didn’t get a call from my credit card.  I mean, I’ve got 4 transactions within 5 minutes to the same place.  If I had been thinking straighter, it would have only been two transactions, but things kept slipping through the cracks of my brain.  My brain is very cracked right now.

 

I didn’t get into Advanced Top-Down Sock Design, The Knitting Sleuth, or Photographing Your Fiber– I was pretty excited about those.  They filled up unbelievably fast!  I’m on the waiting list, but I don’t hold out much hope.

 

So, what did I end up with?  A pretty good schedule, I think.

 

Day Morning Afternoon Evening
Thursday Morphing Cables   Opening Night Reception
Friday Writing Up an Awesome Sock Pattern Choosing Among Choices  
Saturday The Deeper Meaning of Sock Knitting The Perfect Rib @ 2:30 This is Your Brain on Knitting
Sunday Socktastic Stitch Patterns Color on Your Feet  
 

8 Responses to “Registering”

  1. Louise Says:

    I am SOOOO jealous! The class you are signed up for sound great. Lucky you to be able to go!

    I’m so glad that the Summit is in Portland, otherwise I probably wouldn’t be able to go. I wish you could come too!
    -Cailyn

  2. Robin Says:

    I had the same problem with my first attempt to pay. Got an error message, had to find a way back, then my first choice was full. Took me two trues before I realized I needed to pay for what I had, then go back. I’m not as quick as you are. Oh well, I got some good classes too.

    I was just about ready to punch a hole through my wall when I got that error message. And then I wasted precious seconds trying to figure out if it would charge my card twice if I just hit “refresh” before starting over. I was so close to getting into Cookie’s class… sigh. It should be tons of fun though! I can’t believe it’s only two months away!!
    -Cailyn

  3. Felicity Says:

    I am super jealous, I wish I was going!

    I know I don’t often comment, but I do really like your blog. I nominated you for the Versatile blogger award over at my own in this post:

    http://silverroseknits.wordpress.com/2011/05/15/versatile-blogger-award/

    Hope you’re having a lovely time!

    Thanks for the nomination! That’s really cool. I like your blog!
    -Cailyn

  4. BydaySoody Says:

    ghhhghhg
    ghvdghgbhfgh
    bhdbhfghbbfghgfhgbh

    bghdbhgh
    bghbdghgfhgh

    bhgdbhfghbgfhhfgh

  5. Ronaldtuts Says:

    sss

  6. neo Says:

    Имя – Некрасов Аркадий
    Город – Санкт-Петербург
    Страна – Россия
    Проф – Телефонист

    Хобби – На этой еделе этот сайт рассказал хацкер из Питера

    Подпись – [url=http://smolenskaya8.org.ua/index.php?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=3571]вот этот[/url] Зачем-то этот портал подсказал товарищ из Ялты

  7. neo Says:

    Имя – Новиков Ефим
    Город – Оренбург
    Страна – Россия
    Проф – Виноградарь

    Хобби – В этом месяце этот портал дал хацкер из Ялты

    Подпись – [url=http://suntechceramics.com/index.php?option=com_k2&view=itemlist&task=user&id=8369]тут[/url] Сестре моей этот веб-сайт дал друг из Урюпинска


Leave a Reply

