The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Classes are up! April 21, 2011

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 12:56 pm
Tags:

They posted the class schedule for the Sock Summit recently.  There are a lot more classes this time!  I read through them and pulled out my “first cut” of classes, which will slowly get whittled down to an achievable number.  Sadly, the two classes that I was really hoping would be offered aren’t (the Yarn Harlot’s Knitting for Speed and Cat Bordhi’s one about making up new stitches).  I’m dying to take that Speed Knitting class- I missed it at the last Summit and Madrona.  Oh well.  There are a lot more spinning classes this year to make up for it!

 

Now, to understand this next part, you have to realize that I am a total dork.

 

I took the schedule page from the website and made an Excel worksheet of it.  It has all the classes on it, divided by day and time, and each class is hyperlinked to it’s webpage.  This way, I can easily copy/paste or drag and drop the classes I want into as many schedule possibilities as I want.  I can rearrange the layout of the days and times for easier visualization.  I can easily find which classes repeat on which days.  And I can always look back on all the classes, to see if there’s a class or lecture that fits in nicely but I hadn’t been interested in previously (I change my mind a lot).  I even tried to match the original colors as best I could.

 

ss11

 

Yes, I’m thinking about this too much.

 

But, in case anyone else is a total dork, I’ve uploaded the Excel files (one for Office 2010 and one pre-2010) here if you’d like to use them too.  Share the dorkiness!!

 

For Excel 2010: Sock Summit 2011 Schedule

For Excel pre-2010 Sock Summit 2011 Schedule

 

9 Responses to “Classes are up!”

  1. Mona Says:

    I took knitting for speed and efficeincy at Madrona- it was great and I am taking cat’s s stitches class at Squam Art Workshop in June, the on to sock summit. Good thing I live outside Portland. Work is sure getting in the way of my classes! Thanks for being geeky on doing an excel spreadsheet! See you at sock summit!

    I can’t wait for Sock Summit! No matter what, it should be a blast. I can’t believe that the marketplace is even bigger this year! It was overwhelming before- now I might need a sherpa to find my way around.
    -Cailyn

  2. Diane Says:

    Thanks for the spreadsheet!

  3. Bethel King Says:

    Thanks for the spreadsheet. It was just what I wanted!!!

  4. Leah Says:

    Thank you for sharing! I was just about to go make one myself when I saw this on Ravelry.

  5. twotoast Says:

    Excellent – great idea, thanks :o)

  6. Janelle Says:

    Dorks rule. Thank you SO much for sharing – this is perfect for me!

  7. twinsetjan Says:

    A woman after my own heart! Thanks for saving me some time and effort…hope to see you at SS11 to thank you in person!

  8. michk Says:

    Thank you so much! This has saved me ALOT of time!

  9. Millie Says:

    I’m guessing the Sock Summit folks would love that spreadsheet to share on their own site. It sounds like something I would do (but do, not nearly as well as you… great idea matching colors!)

    Funny, Lowell said exactly the same thing. Conspiracy? 🙂
    -Cailyn


Leave a Reply

