The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Hot Off the Wheel April 12, 2011

Filed under: spinning — Cailyn @ 11:42 am
Tags: , , , ,

Not much going on here right now.  So here’s the pretty yarn I just spun last weekend.

 

115_5535

 

This is the Hanks in the Hood batt that I tore into rolags in this post here.  It’s 3 oz, 50% merino, 50% bamboo.  I had trouble getting the right colors in the photos; the yarn is really a cool combination of grey-green and teal.

 

115_5537

 

I spun this with a woolen long draw on my wheel, which gave me a nice poofy squishy yarn with great drape.  Very similar to the yarn I made in December, which was the point.  It varies between a DK and sport weight yarn and I think I’ve got about 80 yards of it.  I forgot to keep count of the turns around the niddy-noddy, so the yardage is a very rough estimate.

 

Did I mention that woolen long draw is fast?  I spun up the singles in just a few hours and plied in half the time.  But I like using worsted yarns better.  I think I’m going to spin up some worsted laceweight on my wheel next.

 

Leave a Reply

