The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Piecework Mystery February 1, 2011

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 9:47 pm

Magazines are great.  I’ve subscribed to Interweave Knits for years and more recently Spin Off.  Over the last year, I’ve also picked up the occasional copy of Piecework which has interesting articles about traditional needle work of any type, like tatting, embroidery, and knitting.  (Huh, apparently I really like Interweave publications.)

 

So I was really excited to see the latest issue of Piecework in my mailbox shortly after Christmas.

 

image

 

Sweet! I thought.  Someone got me a subscription to Piecework!  Did I put that on my Christmas list?

 

I sat down and thoroughly enjoyed the issue.  I also got the historical knitting issue soon after. 

 

image

 

I was so excited but I couldn’t figure out who had gotten it for me.  My in-laws seemed uninvolved.  Lowell had no information, even after being plied with steak.  It wasn’t any of the friends I talked to and it wasn’t my family.  Of course, I wasn’t going to look a gift horse in the mouth.  But I wanted to thank my unknown benefactor; I felt guilty not knowing who gave me the subscription.

Yesterday, I finally figured it out.

 

It was me.

 

3 Responses to “Piecework Mystery”

  1. april Says:

    ha ha, that is funny. I have done things and then later totally forgotten that I did it, so I relate! BTW- I am new to your blog, but I am enjoying it. Thanks

    Thanks! Hopefully I won’t forget too many other things… I can just see it, “Where did this yarn come from? Oh right, I spun that last week.” Or, “Look, a sock!… Did I knit that?”
    -Cailyn

  2. Lavender Says:

    Lovely surprise for yourself. Love Piecework too.

    What can I say, I’m a sucker for history-through-handicrafts. It’s fascinating!
    -Cailyn

  3. mauri Says:

    haa haa
    that’s awesome!🙂

    should never forget yourself in the holiday season…

    I still can’t believe that I forgot like that! Next time, I should write myself a note: “Dear Self. You bought yourself a magazine subscription. Interrogating friends and family as to the origin of this subscription will end with a facepalm. Sincerely, Self.”
    -Cailyn


Leave a Reply

