The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Party time February 2, 2010

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 10:06 pm
Tags: ,

Hello, blog.  I’ve missed you.

 

Things have been busy.  Lowell’s birthday was last Friday and I spent a long time planning a surprise party for him.  It was hard, too, since I had to hide things in very creative places to keep him from finding the decorations or food!  The planning took a lot of my time last week.  I was sure that someone was going to spill the beans, but the party ended up as a complete surprise.

 

About halfway through the party, I sat down and pulled out my spindle.  (I had tweaked something in my wrist while cleaning and knitting aggravated it, but spinning seemed okay.)  It’s funny to see people’s reactions when you pull out a spindle.  Friends who are completely used to you knitting in public suddenly look at you like you’ve got five arms and two of them are spinning.  But then they start to pay attention to your hands.  You can see the transition; when they see the fluffy fiber becoming thin string, they can’t stop watching.  They may make disparaging comments about it being a waste of time and too tedious, but they also can’t take their eyes off the twirling spindle.  It’s fun.

 

102_4983

 

This yarn is going to be a not-quite-birthday scarf for Lowell.  He wanted something natural and soft.  It’s Ecolana from Aslan Trends.  60% alpaca, 40% merino, all natural and undyed.  It’s a very rustic looking yarn.  It feels great in the skein but like so many yarns, it doesn’t knit up that way.  I wouldn’t say it’s scratchy, per se, but it’s surprisingly harsh for alpaca and merino.  There are also a large number of coarse guard hairs (hairs from the outer coat of the alpaca) that I’m having to pick out as I knit.  It’s unfortunate, because I really like the look of this yarn.  Lowell likes the knit fabric enough that I don’t need to rip out the 6 inches I’ve got knit, but I don’t think I’ll be using this yarn again.

 

The Ecolana was on sale at Webs when I bought it.  I couldn’t help throwing a few more on-sale items into the cart:

 

102_4997

 

Another color of Ecolana (which now I kind of regret), and four skeins of Universal Yarn’s Deluxe Worsted Tones.  What can I say, the Tones were pretty and 220 yards for $4.50.  You’d have to be some kind of yarn-hating freak of nature to say no to that kind of offer.

 

One Response to “Party time”

  1. Felicity Says:

    Pretty colours and inexpensive definitely make it hard to turn down yarn.

    It’s a shame the Ecolana doesn’t knit up well, because it looks super squishy and soft.


Leave a Reply

