The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Oh Crap January 14, 2010

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 12:21 pm
Tags: , ,

Oh crap.

 

I love my CPH.  I loved knitting it.  I love wearing it.  Do you know what this means?

 

It means that I can’t stop looking at sweaters and wanting to knit them.   Last week, I was running errands and saw a woman wearing an awesome sweater out the window.  I tried to kinnear the sweater as best I could.

 

IMG_0254 (2)    IMG_0257 (2)

 

I love the huge cables on that thing.  I wish I had gotten a better picture of the back, though.  According to my notes (yes, I kinneared and took notes!) the back had two of the arm cables side by side and they interlaced together.

 

We went to see a movie the other day and a preview for Greenberg was shown.  I leaned over to Lowell and whispered, “I like his sweater!”  I particularly like the lines of eyelets on the drop shoulder.

 

 greenberg

 

This can’t be good.   I mean, I already stare at people’s socks, hats, scarves and mittens.  Now I’m going to stare at their sweaters and cardigans too?!  I won’t be able to go anywhere without taking pictures of strangers and gazing intently at their shoulders to figure out what kind of sleeve they have. 

 

I’ve already started on a designed-from-scratch sweater for Lowell (almost 8 inches long now!)  I’d post a picture of it, but if it turns out well I might want to submit it somewhere.  I completely understand that magazines want their patterns to be a surprise, but it really puts a kink in the blogging, you know?  Suffice to say that it has cables and the design relied heavily on Lowell’s input.  It’s based on Elizabeth Zimmerman’s seamless bottom-up saddle shoulder pattern from Knitting Without Tears.  It’s also green.

 

One Response to “Oh Crap”

  1. Your CPH looks great, Laura! I love how the pattern falls over the contours of the shoulders. You did an excellent job!


Leave a Reply

