The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

On the Road Again November 23, 2009

Filed under: Knitting Projects — Cailyn @ 1:09 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Well, it’s that time of year again.  Time for my yearly trek back to Virginia and gorge myself on tasty turkey, gravy, and apple pie.  Yum yum.  The downside, of course, is that it’s a five-hour flight to said turkey.  Not to mention the time waiting for the flight in the airport and on the tarmac.  So there has been careful planning about projects, as you can imagine.

 

First up, my plain sock for knitting while talking to family.  This was yarn that I dyed almost a year ago but never used because I thought it was too plain.  Recently, I re-skeined it and over-dyed part of it to make it have stripes.  The purple is the new part.  I also have some hand-dyed light brown for the cuffs, heels, and toes.  No matter how I take pictures of this yarn, the color never turns out right.  Trust me that the purple is more… purple in real life.  I’ve learned my lesson, though, and I’m only bringing enough to make one sock on the trip.  That should guarantee that I finish the sock, right?

102_4820   102_4792

 

Next, I’m making a scarf for someone for Christmas. Malabrigo Worsted, in Loro barranquero.

102_4534      102_4817

 

This beautiful yarn will be a pair of cabled socks.  The Yarn Hollow Squish, Teal on Teal.

102_4617    102_4816

 

This merino/bamboo fiber that I bought at Weaving Works.  Only about an ounce; I just wanted enough to tell how the blend spins.  I dyed it myself with food coloring.  I’ll be spinning it on my new Mt. Baker spindle!

102_4834    102_4839

 

And one last-minute addition, Shibui Knits Baby Alpaca DK in Spruce.  Project to be determined soon.

102_4730

 

I’m not worried that I’m not bringing enough yarn.  I am worried, however, that the projects I have won’t be complicated enough to keep my interest.  After all, the flight back is an hour longer… Maybe I should bring a stitch dictionary just in case…

 

3 Responses to “On the Road Again”

  1. yarndancer Says:

    I think that should be enough to keep you going 😉 I really love the yarn you’re going to use for your plain socks, the blues are just gorgeous! And I think the cabled socks will really pop in that yarn. Beautiful! Enjoy your thanksgiving!

  2. Karen Says:

    Looks like enough great projects to keep you busy thru the inevitable delays. Good luck.

    Also, it is raining in much of Virginia and that may keep up for a couple of days.

  3. […] huge effort to finish some projects, including a pair of socks for submission to Knit Picks and the pair of stockinette socks that I started over Thanksgiving.  I don’t know why getting those done makes me feel better, as I’m planning on casting on […]


Leave a Reply

