The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

SS09 Debriefing, Part 1 August 13, 2009

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 12:20 pm
Tags: , ,

Wow, what a week.  I took a lot of pictures to post while I was there, but that never ended up happening.  Plus, the WordPress app didn’t work on my iPhone.  I’ll blame the lack of in-progress blogging on that.  There is no way that I can write up everything in one post, so bits and pieces will be dribbling out over the next few days.  First, I’ll just say that Sock Summit was AWESOME.  All those knitters in one place, all those socks!  Actually, there was a sad lack of handknit socks.  Lots of people wore sandals or strappy shoes without socks!  I sported true northwestern style and rocked the “socks and sandals” combo all four days.  Which got me some very funny looks on the light rail on the way to and from the convention.

 

IMG_0905

Registration under the dragon boat.  I never found out why there is a dragon boat hanging in the convention center.  The classrooms were over to the right and the marketplace was to the left. 

 

IMG_0063  IMG_0860

The Summit took up a large chunk of the convention center and it was teeming with knitters!  It was so much fun to just wander around and see what everyone was working on, whether it was a hat (love that sheep hat!), socks, or spinning.  There’s something very hypnotic about watching someone spin yarn.  Also, there was a Starbucks that was always packed.  Us knitters like our caffeine!

 

I was pretty nervous the first day, since I’m a hardcore introvert and I get very anxious doing things I’ve never done before.  But everyone was super friendly (would you expect anything else?) and the classes were fun.  It was very odd when you’d be sitting in class and Stephanie Pearl-McPhee would just walk in, ask if everything was okay, and then leave again.  Or you’d be wandering in the marketplace and bump into Cookie A or Anna Zilboorg.  It was kind of surreal.

 

The opening ceremony was tons of fun.  Tina and Stephanie told the story of how the Sock Summit came to be, with appropriate blame laid at the feet of Cat Bordhi.  They were both exhausted by this point- I think they said they had had 15 minutes of sleep in the last week- and they kept breaking down and giggling.  Which just made the evening more fun.

 

IMG_0854   IMG_0855  IMG_0859

I was pretty lonely at the beginning of the ceremony, since I didn’t come with anyone, but I met a nice knitter in the drink line.  We sat together and made a running commentary on the speeches.  Afterwards, as people were leaving, we saw Stephanie and Tina standing off to the side mostly alone.  We hurried over, knitting and cameras in hand, to tell them how great they were and beg a photo or two.  We were both pretty awed by the “famous people” and kept giggling about our own shyness.  I’m sure my face was bright red.  We sidled up to Stephanie and were about to say hello when the Ravelry crew intercepted her.  Stymied, we stood there, knitting and trying to look casual, waiting for another opportunity to say hi.  She would look over at us occasionally and we’d never quite get out the words fast enough to hold her attention. 

 

I’m pretty sure that she was worried that we were going to knife her or something.  We’d creep closer and closer to try to talk to her.  We did talk to some nice people who worked at the convention center about knitting and we exchanged a few garbled words with Anna Zilboorg.  And we talked to Tina, or rather, my friend did.  We got a lot of knitting done and we poked fun at ourselves and laughed a lot but we never got to talk to Stephanie.  We didn’t even get a picture of us stalking her.

 

That was the most embarrassing thing I’ve done in many years.  It sure was fun, though.

Stay tuned for Convention Part 2!

 

One Response to “SS09 Debriefing, Part 1”

  1. […] This was just a quick (relatively) in and out trip.  We walked around the marketplace and then headed home.  Lowell wanted to find and kinnear the Yarn Harlot, but I said that I’d already stalked her enough. […]


Leave a Reply

