The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Birthday Yarn July 5, 2009

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 2:28 pm
Tags: , ,

Ever have one of those weeks that seemed to be very busy, but at the end of it you haven’t actually completed much?  Yeah.  I did get a few things done, including a project for Knotions that had been hanging over my head for a long time.  And I ordered my Sock Summit souvenirs, which was fun.  But I didn’t write any of the blog posts or take pictures for a tutorial I’ve had planned for a while…  Where did the time go?

 

It was also my birthday last week.  My in-laws have started a great tradition where they take me to a yarn store.  Need more be said?  It’s probably my favorite part of my birthday!  This year we visited CDA Yarn and Fiber while we were in Coeur d’Alene. 

 

CDA

 

So, here’s the haul!

102_4522

 

 

First up, Handmaiden Casbah.  This yarn is so yummy.  I was first drawn to the deep saturated colors, but the fiber content really sealed the deal.  Merino, cashmere, nylon.  This is a sock yarn, but I’m pretty sure it’s not destined to be a pair of socks.  It’s too pretty to be covered by shoes.  I have no idea what it’ll be instead though. 

 

 

 

 

102_4529

Malabrigo!  I’d actually never run across Malabrigo sock at a yarn store before and it was love at first sight.  Like the Casbah, the color was the first thing that caught my eye.  This skein is a gorgeous blue with that classic wool shimmer.  It’s got subtle color changes from dark blue to very light.  I love it.  It’s so soft.  I got two skeins, one in Persia and one in Archangel, which is a strangely fascinating colorway.  It’s hard to describe and I don’t think the picture really captures it.  It’s lilac and pink but not pink and gold/green… Crazy.  I can’t wait to see how it knits up.

 malabrigo  102_45282

 

102_4534

 

Speaking of Malabrigo, my brother-in-law bought me this squooshy skein of Malabrigo Chunky.  He has pretty good taste in yarn for a non-fiber-addict. He got me some Misti Alpaca lace-weight last winter.  He said that he looks for yarn that he would want to wear, something soft and cuddly.  Can that criteria ever steer you wrong?  After all, the number one cause of unexpected yarn purchases is the inability to put a skein down after picking it up “just to feel.”  He chooses colors that he likes which rounds out my stash nicely.  This isn’t a colorway that I would have picked for myself even though I really like the colors.  But my stash has a distinct lack of red and gold no longer!

 

 

I got one other thing from this shopping spree which is really neat, but I’m not going to post it yet.  I have my reasons, don’t think I don’t!  Stop judging me!

 

2 Responses to “Birthday Yarn”

  1. Kady Says:

    I’d be jealous, but I got a bunch of b-day yarn this year too! I’d love to feel the malabrigo, I’ve nearly been tempted to buy a few skeins on-line and have only held back because I wanted to touch it first. 🙂

  2. Trina Says:

    If you want, if you really, really, want, you could make me something from that Handmaiden Casbah yarn. Its just my colors… 🙂

    BTW, happy, happy birthday, just a little late.

    Trina


Leave a Reply

