The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

We’re Back! June 23, 2009

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 2:04 pm
Tags:

Well, we’re back from Idaho.  Turns out I didn’t have the time (or really, the energy) to write while I was there.  I hardly even knit while I was there.  It was a really great trip, with lots of biking!

 

We rode on the Centennial Trail through town, past this great playground (there might have been a break for swinging).

 

IMG_0552   IMG_0553

 

We rode the Route of the Hiawatha, from Pearson to the East Portal and back.  So many trestle bridges and tunnels!  This trail used to be the Old Milwaukee Railroad, just like the Iron Horse trail that we ride here at home. 

 

Hiawatha Small Tunnel   Hiawatha After the Rain   Hiawatha West Tunnel Entrance

 

It started to rain while we were riding and we took refuge in one of the tunnels.  It got pretty cold in those tunnels, especially the long ones.  The St Paul Pass Tunnel is 1.8 miles long!  You could see your breath in the middle of the tunnel… or you would have been able to if there had been enough light! Luckily the sun came back out pretty quickly, but until it did the trail was misty and mysterious. It was a lot of fun.

 

We also rode on the Trail of the Coeur d’Alenes, from Medimont to the middle of the bridge over the lake.  We got rained on there too.  That ride was very pretty and it had ice cream!  We stopped off at the Creamery in Harrison for a small lunch, a little fudge, and lots of ice cream.  Mmm, banana split.

 

Trail of CDA   IMG_0676    IMG_0739

 

On the last day we were in town, we went to some yarn shops, played mini golf, and bowled.  Oh, and some laser tag.  I’d never played laser tag before- I was pretty bad at it!  I think I shot my mother-in-law more than anyone else, completely by accident I swear.  She shot me a lot too.  I think it would have been more fun if it hadn’t been so humid, although the terrible techno was a nice touch. 

 

You’ll have to wait for the next post for the breakdown of my stash enhancement.  (Although the yarn is in my Ravelry stash if you really can’t wait to see.)

 

One Response to “We’re Back!”

  1. Millie Says:

    Sooo! It was you who shot me so much in laser tag! Next time you will pay… I think perhaps it was my laughter that kept giving away my hiding spot. We will definitely need to have some future duels (of course, I can’t guarantee I’ll spend most of my time laughing). The entire trip and visit was fabulous!


Leave a Reply

