The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

[expletive deleted] May 1, 2009

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 9:44 pm
Tags: ,

102_4429 

I know when I’m licked.

 

This is the hazard of placing your project down anywhere near your feet.  Normally, this would be cause for some cursing, a brief memorial service, and then a transfer of the project to DPNs while I wait for a new Harmony circ.  Like most of my life recently, this is has not happened under normal circumstances.  There was a lot of cursing.  I have at least 3 pairs of size 1 circulars.  And at least 4 sets of size 1 DPNs.  I have slightly fewer combinations of size 0s and just enough size 2s to cover this sort of occurrence. But turn me ’round and call me Nancy if this sad horrific accident didn’t happen to my only pair of size 1.5 circulars!

 

See, I tried to start some socks using Shibui Knits on size 1s.  They were very dense and had very little give.  Then I tried them on size 2s, which ended up too loose and sloppy for my tastes.  So I went and grabbed Baby Bear’s needles and darn if size 1.5s (2.5mm instead of 2.25; often they’re just referred to as size 1s) weren’t just right.  Everything was going smoothly, including a very fast stockinette section that was very enjoyable.

 

Then I had to frog.  About 30 rounds.  And then I had a tangled mass of yarn to lug around as I dragged the project around to various engagements.  And now this.

 

102_4430

 

I’m beginning to think that this sock doesn’t want to have cables on it.  It’s very picky, as this is the second attempt I’ve made at using this yarn.

 

I haven’t posted in a while, because really there hasn’t been a lot of knitting this week.  I fell off my bike (I got clipless pedals and everyone has to fall once with them.  I was smart and managed to fall on the grass.) and tweaked an old injury that hurts when I knit.  And there’s been a lot of spring cleaning.  And every time I sat down to post, I got writer’s block.  I’ve been dealing with some depression and anxiety lately.  I don’t want to go into too much since this is a crafting blog and not a inner-psychosis blog.  But it’s been keeping me from really enjoying writing like I usually do, so I feel like I should mention it.  I’ve been trying very hard to lose weight for a while.  No one’s sure right now why, since I’m following every instruction I’ve been given, I’m not making any progress.  The current theory is some sort of rare syndrome.  It’s very frustrating to have made all these changes in my life and to be popping supplements and pills left and right and to not know what’s wrong with me.  It will all be resolved; as Lowell says I can’t outrun the laws of science forever.  But right now it’s hard and stressful.  There’s a lot to keep track of.  On the plus side, I have found a lot of new foods that are incredibly delicious.  And the clipless pedals are not as scary as I thought they would be.

 

Guess I’ll go put the Shibui Knits in the corner and see if it ever comes around and tells me what it’s supposed to be.  Luckily, I have other socks to work on.  I took pictures for a tutorial today, so hopefully the next post will actually be something useful!

 

One Response to “[expletive deleted]”

  1. =Tamar Says:

    One year I ate almost nothing but raw spinach, fat-free milk, fat-free yogurt, and plain oatmeal, and hiked the mall 5 days a week, but didn’t lose any weight until I stopped using any form of creamer in my coffee. That little bit was what stopped me.


Leave a Reply

