The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Bio Hazard March 20, 2009

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 1:31 pm
Tags: , ,

I have to write a thirty-word bio for a submission.  It doesn’t seem that hard, right?  Then why has it taken me all day?!  I dare you to try it.  Summarize yourself in approximately thirty words.  It’s hard.  What makes the cut?  It’s for a knitting publication- do you include that you enjoy other crafts?  Do you mention your family or pets?  Should your bio be humorous or serious?  Oh, the decisions!

 

Yeah, I’m obsessing just a little.  I’m also using this post to procrastinate writing the bio.    I hate writing bios.  You can see that the bio on this site is rather… dull and formulaic.  I’ll have to fix that some day.  I wonder if there’s a “Bio-Writing for Dummies” book.  There seems to be one for every other subject, after all.

 

In other news, I’m really looking forward to the Sock Summit in August. 

button_sock_summit

 

And by “really looking forward to,” I actually mean chomping-at-the-bit, counting-down-the-days, want-it-to-be-right-now, let-me-at-it!  It looks like it’s going to be incredible.  The Summit is being organized by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee (the Yarn Harlot) and Tina Newton (the owner of Blue Moon Fiber Arts.)  That, in and of itself, was enough to send me through the roof.  I didn’t need  any more information to start obsessing about it.  I had it on my calendar and stared at the dates lovingly.  The fact that this conference is taking place in Portland, which is only a few short hours from here, only increased my love of the event.

 

And then.  THEN.  They posted the teacher list and I think I stopped breathing.  Check this out:

Cookie A!

Cat Bordhi!

Nancy Bush!

Priscilla Gibson-Roberts!

Amy R Singer!

Barbara Walker!

The whole list of teachers is much longer.  These are just some of my favorites.  I mean, all of these people are my heroes.  These are giants of knitting.  And I’m going to go take classes from them! Talk to them… if I get up the courage and don’t stammer out something fawning and unintelligent.  It’s just as likely that I will fall on my face or accidentally stab myself with a DPN as it is that I’ll utter a complete sentence around these people.  I’m horribly shy.  When that shyness is coupled with my feeling that I’m still a novice in relation to these masters, well.  I might not speak all weekend!

 

Let me know if you’re thinking of attending the Sock Summit- only you can make sure that I speak at least once in the three days!

 

4 Responses to “Bio Hazard”

  1. Millie Says:

    I think you should “borrow” my wonderful, Albuquerque gloves and exhibit them. They are so incredible and maybe would speak FOR you a bit. (You are also welcome to borrow my fabulous blue socks!)

  2. Libby Hooper Says:

    Cailyn, I think it would be fun to go to the sock summit with you. We could stay at Jo’s house in Portland. What do you think?

  3. Kady Says:

    I wanna go! I wanna go! Though being as close to the wedding as it is… I can’t say for 100% that it is possible. It does look promising, though.

    If we all carpool, we can take turns and knit while we aren’t driving 0=)

  4. That’s a really badass logo for a Sock Summit. I’ve never seen knitting look so hardcore!


Leave a Reply

