The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Bamboo Socks March 18, 2009

Filed under: Knitting Projects — Cailyn @ 3:27 pm
Tags: , , ,

Apparently writing this post is less interesting than taking silly Facebook quizes today.  I don’t spend a lot of time on Facebook (seems I’m even an introvert online,) but I happened to be there and there was this silly quiz… which led to another silly quiz… Apparently I’d be happiest living in Seattle (which I am) and the animal I’m most like is a mongoose.  Maybe I should make a silly knitting quiz; you know, are you a circ or a DPN?  Which fiber are you most like?  How does your IQ compare to a sheep’s?  Things like that.  Although I think I know all the results to the last quiz there.

 

It’s been gray and rainy today so I couldn’t go outside to take pictures of the Orencia socks.  I really have to come up with a better name for them; I don’t want them going through their whole lives thinking they have rheumatoid arthritis.  But I did take some pictures in my lightbox, so here they are.

 

101_4354   101_4349

 

 

The socks have a lace front and a stockinette back.  I originally knit (all the way down to the heel flap!) the sock with the lace design on both the front and the back, but the sock turned out huge!  I had to rip the whole thing out.  Painful, and I almost gave up on the design.  It’s rare for me to have a design element that makes the sock too large or stretchy.  Since I normally gravitate towards cables or colorwork, I often have the opposite problem- I can’t use the design I want because the sock won’t fit over a normal human ankle.  I knew that lace is stretchier than cables or even stockinette, but the swatch did nothing to prepare me for how baggy that sock was!  Just another example of a lying, evil swatch trying to cause mental instability in a knitter.

 

101_4340

 

The yarn is Five Oaks Ranch Bamboo (80% bamboo, 20% wool) from Argosy Luxury Fibers in Sage.  The lace pattern is simple and easy to memorize, making it a nice, quick knit spring sock, even though it doesn’t seem like spring is coming any time soon.  I think they turned out very close to the original inspiration.  You can see why I wanted to knit them in a cute pink or yellow, but I think the ice blue lends them an air of elegance.  I should have the pattern written up and ready to go in a few days, now that I don’t have any travel plans to mess up my schedule.

 

Leave a Reply

