The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Books About Knitting November 5, 2008

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 8:55 pm
Tags: , ,

This post is brought to you by the books at your local library.

 

I love my library system.  It’s only been recently that I’ve discovered how freaking amazing it is.  I went to the library a lot as a kid (I was a voracious reader) and even more in high school and college for research.  Oh the nights spent in the library researching…  Anyway, after college, I didn’t go to the library much.  I bought books as I wanted them and resold, donated, or hung on to them when I was finished.  And that’s still pretty much the case with my “pleasure reading.”

 

But the knitting books.  Oh, the knitting books.  When I finally put two and two together and remembered that I could check out knitting books, well, things have gotten out of hand.  In just the last few days, I’ve checked out Knitting Beyond the Edge, A Fine Fleece, and No Sheep for You.  Before that it was the Museum of Kitschy Stitches, which amused Lowell greatly and the History of Handknitting.  Right now, I’m still enjoying No Sheep for You and Cables Untangled.

 

As someone who loves cables, this book is great.  I ordered Leapman’s second book, Continuous Cables, from Amazon because it isn’t in the library system yet.  I can’t wait to look at it!  Cables Untangled has a great stitch dictionary in the back with cables I haven’t seen anywhere else, and the patterns for sweaters and even the afghans are gorgeous.  There’s something about the way a nice plump cable twists and turns over the recessed background of purl stitches… I love that look.  I like lace and knit/purl designs, but cables are really where my heart lies.  I’m already dreaming up some lovely cabled socks; maybe three or four pairs, haha!  Of course, I’m also planning a Fair Isle pair of gloves; I might have even ordered the yarn for them today while I was ordering some Christmas present yarn.  They’re going to be beautiful.  I hope.

 

I’m also hoping that the yarn I ordered to complete my sister’s scarf will be here tomorrow and I can finish the scarf-of-doom and post the pattern.  Of course, what I’m really looking forward to is the Dream in Color Smooshy that’s coming with the Cascade 220.  It’s destined to be a Christmas present if it stands up to my rigorous testing.  You know, squeezing it and knitting up a heavily cabled swatch.  I’ve never knit with Smooshy but the name is great.  So many ideas, so little time…

 

Leave a Reply

