The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

I’m Going to See the Yarn Harlot! October 6, 2008

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 11:47 pm
Tags: ,

Ok, I lied. At the time of this writing, I have already seen said Harlot and hold in my hands a signed copy of her new book, Free-Range Knitter.

 

If you haven’t heard of the Yarn Harlot, then move your butt over to Amazon and order some of her books!  Although, maybe you’re like me a few months ago.  I didn’t understand what all the fuss was about.  I thought that a book about knitting without patterns or stitches was useless.  I’m not a Debbie Macomber fan; I don’t read knitting fiction.  But the Stephanie Pearl-McPhee isn’t knitting fiction.  She isn’t even just knitting.  Her books are a humorous look a her life,  the lives of knitters and sometimes life in general.  The first time I picked up The Secret Life of a Knitter, on a whim at a bookstore, I was hooked.  Here was someone with my love of yarn, my obsession with stitch patterns, an ungodly number of needles… and she had managed to put the feelings I have about socks and stashes and gauge in writing.  Not only writing, but hilarious, just-one-more-page writing.

 

I don’t know, there’s something special in that to me.  I love to read and books are precious to me (I get very bent out of shape if something happens to one of my books.)  After reading her first book, I quickly gobbled up the rest of them.  Even Lowell read some of At Knit’s End, which is probably the sweetest thing he’s ever done (and he’s very sweet).  When he told me he’d read a little of the book and he understood some of my obsession now, I just about melted in a puddle.  I know it doesn’t seem like much, but I didn’t ask him to read it; he did it because it’s something I’m interested in and he wants to know more about it.  And, as he put it, it doesn’t hurt that Stephanie is so funny!

 

My friend Kady and I went to go see the Yarn Harlot at Third Place Books last night.  We had SO MUCH FUN.  First, just looking around at the audience and seeing almost everyone there with needles in their hands and yarn coming from all directions was great.  I’ve never seen so many knitters in one place!

 

IMG_2020 [800x600]

 

Then Stephanie came out and talked about the writing of a book and that there are more than ten knitters in the world, but you wouldn’t know it by the way people treat us!  It sounds strange, but it was incredibly funny.  I was worried that Kady was going to fall off her chair sometimes.  During the questions, there was a recounting of the evil fleece stealing squirrel which turned into a story about some scary raccoons which turned into a story about a skunk.  Sorry about the blurry pictures… there’s no good way to take stage pictures without a tripod.

IMG_2021 [800x600]   IMG_2025 [800x600]

 

After the talk, we all lined up to get the books signed.  We were in front of some very nice, chatty ladies and nothing breaks the ice like a good knitting-gone-wrong story.  I was pretty nervous as we got closer to the front.  I mean, Stephanie is practically a celebrity to me.  Have you ever imagined yourself meeting a famous person, like Jennifer Aniston or Zach Braff?  And you tell yourself that you’re going not going to be like those other fans, going crazy over them.  You’re going to play it cool and come across so much better?  But deep inside, you know you want to squeal and hug them and then take a lock of their hair (well, maybe not that last part.)  I wanted to play it cool, wanted to say something clever and memorable… but at the same time I wanted to gush and tell her how cool she is.

IMG_2030 [800x600]   IMG_2032 [800x600]

 

When I got to the front, I handed her my book and blurted out “Oh my gosh, I’m so nervous!  I love your books!” or something to that effect.  She laughed and told me she was nervous too. Kady got her books signed and we all took a picture together.  Stephanie was so nice and funny… I hope she comes back to Seattle soon!  (That’s me in the purple, Kady in the middle, and the Yarn Harlot in Hey Teach.)

IMG_2033 - Copy [800x600]

 

*squee!* She’s holding my socks! I’m holding her sock!  Guess I have to finish them now! đŸ˜€  I’m still buzzed from the massive amount of fun we had.  Wow.

 

One Response to “I’m Going to See the Yarn Harlot!”

  1. […] needles.  The multi-colored Harmony needles didn’t look as good to me.  My friend Kady had some though and when I saw them in person, I really liked them.  I’m still not over […]


Leave a Reply

