The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Pretty Colors August 7, 2008

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 3:07 pm
Tags: , ,

I might be the only person in the world who finds color work relaxing. I mean, just going through the stash or stores to find the right colors is fun by itself. Then there’s the fun and challenge of knitting with yarn in both hands. And of course, the awe of fellow knitters is just a small added bonus. 😉

I would never describe myself as someone with an “eye for color.” In high school, all the pants I owned were black so that I never had to worry about my pants and shirts matching, lol. I’m certainly not one of those people who looks at lime green and burgundy and teal and says “Yeah, that’s a killer combo!” and actually has it work out. But I think I’ve got an OK track record on my color work knits. They’re pleasant to look at. Although, I always feel secretly ashamed that I didn’t take more color risks on a project. Maybe I should have added some lime to that piece… Or some red and hot pink… Of course, maybe I shouldn’t admit this to you. Maybe I should cultivate some sort of color mystique. That way if I mess up and try some awful combo, you’ll think it’s beautiful because, after all, I’m the color expert. Haha!

This project has been perfect so far. A little color, nice yarn (Louet Gems Pearl! Stash busting, baby!), and some interesting increases. I’ve dug out New Pathways for Sock Knitters after a long hiatus. I love that book; it’s fascinating. But for some reason, all the socks that I knit from Bordhi’s “master numbers” patterns didn’t fit very well, even though all the numbers were based on measurements from my own darn foot! Too loose in the heel, kind of baggy around the ankle, that sort of thing. I’ve decided to try again, though, because the ideas in that book as just too awesome to give up on. If you love sock knitting and haven’t checked out this book, you’re really missing out. (And this is from someone who doesn’t really like Bordhi’s other books.) I wanted to make a toe-up sock and didn’t feel quite like a short-row heel or the annoying math of a heel flap, so liberated increases it is! We’ll see if this sock turns out to fit better than the others, because I’m really loving them so far. I’m going to add another band of color work just above the ankle, complementary but different from the toe section. Here’s hoping!

PS: Anyone have any ideas for a name for this sock? I’m stumped. Maybe it’ll come to me when it’s finished.

 

One Response to “Pretty Colors”

  1. Alex Says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!


Leave a Reply

