The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Look What I Got! September 6, 2011

Filed under: spinning — Cailyn @ 1:17 pm
Tags: ,

IMG_5214

 

What could be in the box?  And why does it have a huge question mark on it?  That seems mysterious.

 

IMG_5215   IMG_5216

 

*gasp!*  It’s a Schacht Sidekick!

 

IMG_5219  IMG_5217 2

 

It’s so small!  The cat isn’t even scared of it.  Folded up, it’s 21.5 inches tall, 8 inches wide, and 15 inches deep.  And it only weighs 13 pounds!  Which, honestly, is lighter than my laptop and just 3 pounds heavier than that cat.

 

IMG_5224

 

Unfolded, the wheel is still delightfully small.  The orifice is 25 inches tall once it’s all together, which is a nice comfortable height.  The treadles are great.  It’s noisier than my Matchless; I’m not sure if that’s because of the rubber drive band or what.  I don’t remember the Sidekick that I tried at the Sock Summit being noisy, but it might have been that the ambient noise was too high for me to hear it.  Or I was just too excited to pay attention.

 

IMG_5223 

 

Look at how cute it is!  That drive wheel is so small.  And blue, I love that it’s blue.  So far I’ve spun a little on it- not as much as I’d like because I’ve been pretty busy with a new Knit Picks pattern and some late summer house cleaning.  But so far it’s great!  I’m going to find/make a nice padded case for it.  It comes with a carrying strap, but it’s a little short for my taste- the wheel is basically in your armpit when you put the strap on your shoulder.

 

Hmm, maybe I’ll go spin on it right now!

 

One Response to “Look What I Got!”

  1. I guessed that this was some kind of knitting thing, but from the pictures alone it looks like some kind of torture device for toddlers who sass back, like a mini rack or something. Which makes this pretty funny.

    Hehe, it does look like a travel-sized medieval rack! For sassy toddlers and cats who try to wake you up in the middle of the night.
    -Cailyn


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers