The Daily Skein

All the craft that’s fit to make.

Knitdar July 17, 2009

Filed under: Musings — Cailyn @ 1:34 pm
Tags: ,

I’ll admit it.  I’m a pretty big Harry Potter fan.  No, I don’t have any wizard memorabilia or costumes and I don’t listen to wizard rock.  But I have read the books once (…or thrice) and I enjoy the movies.  I’m not ashamed.  The series hits all of my buttons… well-written, good characters, thoroughly developed world, and completely over the top magic.

 

We went to see the latest movie (which was fun) and I got distracted by this hat:

 [movies_officialhalfbloodprince_harryhermionewinter_002.jpg]

 

Pretty pretty hat!  In the back of my mind I was deconstructing that hat, even as [important plot elements] were going on.  Luckily, they showed a lot of that hat!  Sadly, the same cannot be said of the matching gloves Hermione was wearing or the Fair Isle scarf.  An industrious knitter has already written a pattern for this hat at JL Yarnworks

 

The top decreases are really beautiful (there’s a picture on Ravelry,) but personally, I’d go a different way.  The original hat was not quite a beanie.  It had little “ears” sticking off the sides, as if the hat had been knitted in a tube, decreased slightly, and then grafted together to form a rectangle instead of a dome.  Just my two cents.

 

Even though I’ve been knitting straight for almost three years now, I never noticed knitwear in the movies much before.  Now I can’t help it!  I was watching some old episodes of How I Met Your Mother and my eyes were glued to a chunky Aran vest.  It’s a good thing that character changed or I might not have paid any attention to the rest of the episode!  Well, it’s not that bad.  But it’s like I’ve got a “knitdar;” my eye is unnaturally attracted to Hollywood knitwear.

 

Knitdar: Be careful, it could happen to you!

 

One Response to “Knitdar”

  1. Elizabeth Says:

    I’m obsessed with a men’s Lopi sweater I saw on a tour DVD from Sigur Ros. Never mind the impossibly gorgeous scenery or heartbreakingly beautiful music, or all the flashing lights and handsome Icelandic rock stars. “Hey, rewind a minute! I want to see that shoulder increase again.”


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers